RSS

Widow condemns police efforts to justify murder of journalist Hem Pandey

17 Nov


Hem Pandey after his execution at point blank range by Andhra Pradesh police

Press Statement, 14 Nov 20109

The Andhra Police is doing all sorts of malicious propaganda to desperately hide the fact that they had killed my husband Hem Chandra Pandey in a fake encounter. Instead of doing a judicial probe in the matter they are regularly trying to harass me in various ways. The police without taking my permission raided our house in Shatri Nagar and now they are showing ‘the seizure of objectionable things’ from the house. The claim by Andhra Police that I had not disclosed the address of my house is completely bogus. Both my address as well as my phone number was with the police, yet they did not consider it necessary to inform me before barging into my house.

I used to stay in A-96 Shastri Nagar with my husband Hem Chandra Pandey. He was a progressive journalist. He was deeply interested in literature and politics. He had in his collections many books ranging from that by Maxim Gorky to the progressive poet of Uttarakhand, Girda.

I want to categorically ask, is studying Marxism any kind of crime? I have no knowledge of the so-called objectionable documents that the police are claiming to have seized from my house. My husband owned a desktop computer but never had a laptop. He did not own any thing like a fax machine as well. The claim that there were ‘secret documents’ in my house is completely baseless. I strongly feel the police are making these stories up in order to divert the demand for a judicial probe in Hem’s killing. I would like to ask why the government is constantly avoiding the judicial enquiry.

I was utterly depressed after the murder of my husband and hence avoided going to the Shastri Nagar residence. I stayed for some days in Haldwani with my mother-in-law and in Pithorgarh with my mother. After my landlady called I had informed her that I will come and pay the rent once I get back to Delhi. I also categorically asked her to keep my luggage with her, in case she wants to vacate the room and rent it out again. Had there been ‘objectionable things’ in my house, I could have never said such a thing.

I simply can’t understand what the police want to achieve by spreading such rumours? I strongly suspect they are doing all this to ‘legitimise’ the murder of my husband. I would like to appeal to all media persons not to believe in such baseless rumours spread by the Andhra Police and co-operate in getting the murderers of my husband booked under law.

Binita Pandey

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 17, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
